Hethersett Hawks Cycle Speedway Club 

Founded 1966 -  Main Sponsors: Swinton and Co


2014 Full Record  2014 Reports 2014 Results    2013 Reports   2013 Results     Club Directory   Honours  Archive   Records

Hawk Talk Magazine  Presentation Evenings  Club Constitution  Club AGMs  Our Sponsors  Site Map  Links  Club Photos

  Club History  The Racing Years Club Roll of Honour


HOME TRACK - Hethersett Memorial Playing Field: Park Drive, Hethersett. For directions click here

Welcome To

The official web site of  Hethersett Hawks Cycle Speedway Club:




Ricki Holds On To His British Under-19 Title - Ollie Riley Finishes Fourth Photographs From The Final

HAWKS had to put in a tremendous effort to ensure that the British Under-19 Championships, sponsored by Haart Estate Agents, could go ahead after heavy overnight and morning rain had flooded the circuit.  However, pumping water from the efficient drainage system allowed the event to go ahead and, although it was heavy going in the qualifying heats, the track was near perfect for the final. 

All the major contenders plus the two home riders, Olly Riley and Olly Buxton, made it through the qualifiers and the Final lived up to expectations with some furious and physical encounters that kept referee Terry Ashford busy.  Some favourites fell foul of the rules which dented their chances and Hethersett's Ollie Riley was well to the fore despite having to desperately hang on to a second place for three laps with a rear-wheel puncture.  After only a third place in a difficult fourth ride he needed to win his last outing.  He was up against the two competition leaders and they proved too strong from the start. Still 14 points was enough to give him a creditable equal fourth place. One point ahead of him was Jack Lush from Stockport who stepped up to third place on the podium.

The top two finished on 18 points and a race-off was required to determine the title. Reigning champion Ricki Johnson from Wednesfield won the important toss for positions and he rode a cagey race to keep Ipswich's Charlie Rumbold at bay. The Suffolk rider tried a last ditch dive at the last corner but Johnson held firm to retain his title and receive the winner's shield from Haart's Elton McQuire.

Olly Buxton was always in the action cheered on by the home support and he finished joint 11th on 9 points.  However, he can look back on a successful week as he was crowned Norfolk Champion in midweek after totting up 20 points out of a possible 24 in a highly competitive and entertaining Final at Spixworth. Ollie Riley, the 2013 Champion, was runner-up after a fall in his fourth ride dented his chances. For the full list of scorers and positions see our results section.

Action above from the Under-19 Championships on the Memorial Field

Hawks and Peelers Special Evening More Information

The Peelers Velo Club (Norfolk Police) sent a squad of 11 members and one son for a "come and try" session at the Hethersett track on a damp Monday evening.  After a demo and some practice they entered into a 12-rider Grand Prix competition. The "A" Final was won by former rider Scott Shorten who raced for North Park Norwich in their Southern Counties League days. He was closely followed by Pete, a local triathlete. Kevin Thompson, who co-ordinated the Velo Club visit, took a tumble contesting the Final.  The evening ended with a 7-aside relay race which was declared a dead-heat.  The visitors really enjoyed their evening and vowed to return next year.

Interestingly one of the visitors measured using 550 calories in the hour he was there, apparently compares favourably with doing one-hour on the road averaging 15 mph.


Hawk Talk 

The 2014 editions of Hawk Talk are all online and can be accessed by clicking here. Archive Hawk Talks are also available.





Cycle speedway has a new web site with news on the sport, competition results, forums and hints on training and diet. Speedway Pro is available by clicking here.



Club founder and secretary Mel Perkins has been hard at work on the club statistics. He had put together grids for all riders and their points for the years from 1991 to 2012. To view these just click on the links below


Statistics 1991 to 2012

Full Rider Statistics 1991 to 2012


Archive Section

News, reports and records of previous seasons can be found in our special archive section which is available by clicking here.

A full statistical record of the 2013 season in pdf format is now available. You can access this by clicking here.

Go Ride Status Achieved


The Hawks have finally been granted the coveted GO-RIDE status by British Cycling. We have been trying for over two years to put everything in place to get this “kite-mark” which confirms we are a well-run and structured club with all policies in place.  


The application has been led by Dave Chambers with help from Ian Grange,  Well done – now we can go for the next level of CLUBMARK!  



Club Contact - Mel Perkins MBE - 9 Meadow Close, Hethersett, NR9 3DZ: Tel 01603 811304 or Mobile 07767 795 184. Mel can be e-mailed by clicking here


Site Links: British Cycling Eastern Region Web Site     Speedway Pro